La Tourrette on sparring tactics (for Ray)!

Reaction score
“Can You Help Me Spar Better?”
©2007 By Dr. John M. La Tourrette
Ph.D. Sports Psychology, NLP Trainer, Author

“Dr. La Tourrette,
Question: You and I spoke once on the telephone this year. I'm a former student of Mr. Dale Pettit. My name is Ray Albrechtsen.
I have a "difficulty" and I wonder if you can help me or point me in the right direction.”

Answer: Sure Ray, I remember you and I do remember Dale Pettit (from Salt Lake City) from back in the 70Â’s and 80Â’s. HeÂ’s a good man. IÂ’ll do my best to help.

Question: “My desire is to be a very good fighter. I've enjoyed sparring and have had some limited success, but nothing outstanding. However, one night(and one night only) at Mr. Pettit's many years ago I did very well and it was without effort or anything done differently on my part – my body "just moved" and I was like a spectator. I have to believe that there is a mental component that I'm not connecting with.”

Answer: When you “were just like a spectator” that means that you were dissociated from the outcome.

For most people when sparring, dissociation is good for several reasons.

1. It removes them from the adrenaline dump, so they do NOT go into over-arousal. Over-arousal is bad for winning because people then try too hard. When they try too hard, they tense up and lose their fine coordination, and their cat-like contraction/expansion of muscles which are necessary for faster reflexes.

2. It also moves them into using their peripheral vision instead of their pin-point vision (fovea vision). When in peripheral vision you can more easily see all of their movements. When in peripheral vision you can more easily go into a sports type of time distortion.

3. It removes them instantly from stress. Stress gives you tunnel vision. Stress turns on that “Instant Stupid Fellow” inside your head. You know the one I’m talking about. It’s the guy that screws up when you (the by-stander) knows better.