Knowledge Transfer to Family

ukiltmybrutha

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I would like to transfer my knowledge to my wife and children. I have some useable tae kwon do experience and I am obtaining some Hapkido/Yudo experience.

Due to scheduling conflicts, personal dispositions, and absolutely no family, support system or friends, my wife and children will not be attending any sort of class.

Do you have any thoughts on whether or not I could transfer knowledge over to them effectively?

Things have worked extremely well thus far with my wife and my 5 year old son.

I am not so sure about teaching my son hapkido/yudo yet, I am beginning to come to the conclusion that maybe those arts are better taught after the age of 12. It is also a little tough for my son not having a little sparring partner, but I am sure he loves beating me up.

I have also been leaving my wife kind of sore when she resists at 100% but so far we have worked it out by allowing her to apply the techniques on me 10 times as often.

I am not really into the "friends" thing.

Any thoughts on how to improve this "game"?

Thanks!

Bruno@MT

Senior Master
Reaction score
It depends.
If you do not have a degree that would qualify you as a teacher, then I would advise against it if they ever want to do those arts for real. Because if you are still a beginner, you will likely teach them things that are wrong. Then, if they ever start in a real dojo, they will have to un-learn many bad habits.

Of course if they don't, then that is less of a problem. In that case, they will be better off than if you don't teach them anything.

Just my 2 ct.

OP
U

ukiltmybrutha

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
It depends.
If you do not have a degree that would qualify you as a teacher, then I would advise against it if they ever want to do those arts for real. Because if you are still a beginner, you will likely teach them things that are wrong. Then, if they ever start in a real dojo, they will have to un-learn many bad habits.