Kenpo Etiquette

Red Menace

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing Tae Kwon Do for many years and I am visiting a Kenpo/Krav Maga school next week and I was wondering what kinds of etiquette are the norm in not-so traditional Kenpo schools. For example, do you bow to each other? Hands at sides or hand over fist in front of you? Do you bow to the training area upon entering or leaving?

I'm sure that they'll clue me in on this stuff but I was just curious.

Xinglu

Black Belt
Reaction score
Typically you render the chinese salute upon entering the training area, to each-other the first time you see them and when saying goodbye, and at the opening and closing of class. That's pretty standard.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have been doing Tae Kwon Do for many years and I am visiting a Kenpo/Krav Maga school next week and I was wondering what kinds of etiquette are the norm in not-so traditional Kenpo schools. For example, do you bow to each other? Hands at sides or hand over fist in front of you? Do you bow to the training area upon entering or leaving?

If its American Kenpo, the ettiquette/ritual is more scaled down than some other flavors. Generally speaking in American Kenpo, the bow is hand-over-fist. Some implement a bow and simple greeting (ie: Good Evening sir, Good Evening ma'am) when you walk through the front door, others don't.

AK schools do a bow upon entering/exiting the mat, as well as a bow to one's training partner before beginning a technique or a drill. A bow to the instructor isn't generally done unless your instructor is your partner for a particular activity, but most classes start with a salute that is done by everyone simultaneously. Many AK schools use some sort of opening pledge, such as the Kenpo Creed