Just introducing myself

JohnS

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

My name is John and I'm studying Kenpo Karate. Started out at a school that was just up the street here in Merchantville, but then the studio had to move about a mile away into the township of Pennsauken.

I started training in Kenpo three plus years back as a way to crawl back from the physical brink. I was 310lbs, with a pair of fractures in my back aggravating the nerve bundles and several other issues with joints in my right leg. It was discourageing and depressing, so I decided to pick my fat *** up and get it moving. I trained three times a week (minimum, its more like four) at the studio and practice with my two younger sons to help them learn their forms and tech's.

I was promoted to Black belt on June 17th of this year. My weight for the last 18 months has averaged 218lbs and I have eliminated all the pain management drugs from my life. I never expected to say that with my birthday this past Saturday that at 40 I'm in better condition than I was at 25.

My current goal is to continue training, studying to be an instructor. I'm doing this for two reasons. One I like it, teaching seems to be part and parcel of the advancement of the art (not just rank). Two, I can see that teaching as a career change would be a very big emotional raise.

Other stuff,
I ride motorcycles and am involved in high performance cars.
I'm struggling to relearn to play accoustic guitar after 21 years and two carpal tunnel surgeries.
I have two sons, 12yrs and 7yrs, that both are studing Kenpo.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Congrats on making such an impact on your life as well as your sons.
You must of had a great instructor and a wonderful family for strength when you needed it.
Terry

Swordlady

Senior Master
Reaction score