Judo & Injuries - beginner needs help?

this_is_dog

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey all - need a bit of advice here.

I started Judo last June as a complete beginner - the only thing I did prior to that was a bit of Muay Thai. I didn't have much experience falling or getting thrown around.
Things were going fairly well - I felt like I was improving after like, 2 months of training, but then I kind of freaked out (don't remember why, I just instinctively fought it in the least intelligent way ever) when I was getting ippon-ed by my sensei and landed on the heel of my right foot.
I sprained it, predictably - cleared up in about 2 weeks but I had to stop because my old, injury-ridden left ankle started acting up (sprained it about 8 times in a variety of ways and a variety of degrees in the last 10 years).
Had to MRI the left (found out I had damaged tendons, ligaments, a ganglion cyst - probably from old injuries that I ignored as a kid) brace it for 2 months and undergo physiotherapy (resistance bands, agility ladders, hopping, etc.) for both ankles. In the meantime my right ankle's a bit loose-r but still serviceable. Doctors said my ankles are fine now, I'll only have to go back to the doctors if I sprain it again.
I'm planning (and truth be told, apprehensive, but eager!) to return to Judo in about 2 months now that both ankles have more or less cleared up, and I continue to do the balance/physio exercises.
Any advice on how not to end up ruining both ankles again? Limping around and feeling incapacitated sucks. I've got two neoprene sleeves with wraps around them, they seem fairly good. I'm planning to wear both when I return.
I've felt more pain than is normal falling/breaking fall because I'm rather tense by nature and find it very difficult to flop down harmlessly when I'm thrown.

TLDR: Two bad ankles; clumsy and very tense; how to prevent injury if I wanna go back to judo?

Thank you! <3

DanT

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score