Judo - Hapkido - Taekwondo

kitarpyar

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi All,
I am fairly new to martial arts (orange belt in WTF Taekwondo). In addition to taekwondo, there's a couple of other options available near at hand - namely judo and hapkido. Being short on time and cash, I can pick only one, or at best two out of the three. I would appreciate your thoughts on which style would suit me the best.

Some information about me, that would be useful.

Basic info - 5'10", 180 lbs, 33 years old.

Strengths:
- Physically strong, thanks to a powerlifting background
- Punching feels quite comfortable
- Decent cardiovascular shape

Weakness:
- Poor flexibility
- Speed isnt great
- Okay balance - basically, I am not very atheletic

Purpose:
- Main purpose for joining MA is to complement my weight training. Thought joining MA will be a good way to stay in shape, cardio-wise and improve flexibility and speed. I suppose any of the MA will satisfy this.
- Second purpose, basic all round self defense
- Third purpose, some sparring each week.

Only exposure to any form of martial arts so far is taekwondo. I stuck with it for 5 months 3-4 classes per week, and only just got an orange belt last week. So, I am really a complete novice. My options are limited by time (can spend up to 5-6 hrs/week) and $$$ and these are the only three MA clubs in my school (and so the membership money is really nominal)

Instructor

Master of Arts
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Why not try a free class at the other schools and see which one you enjoy the most. Frankly any of those arts might suit your list there.

OP
K

kitarpyar

White Belt
Reaction score
Why not try a free class at the other schools and see which one you enjoy the most. Frankly any of those arts might suit your list there.

Thank you for responding. In fact, I did talk to the instructors for judo and hapkido and this is exactly what they said as well, and I will be taking 3 free classes with each of them over next couple of weeks.