Joining a martial arts class. Which one should I join?

AlfonsoGrey37

White Belt
Reaction score
Since I’ve met her and we’ve been together, it’s really turned my life around. It all started when I begrudgingly joined a meet Latin tours trip with my brother, and she just walked up to me. We started talking and immediately clicked. Since then, I’ve quit drinking, started caring more about my health, and have rebuilt my relationship with my stepdad. One thing that my gf and the experience has taught me is to stop being afraid of trying something now, and to initiate change when it’s needed.

Now I’m thinking of enrolling in a martial arts class, but I’m unsure on which one to try. I’m a little overweight and I’ve never trained for anything physical in my whole life. Can anyone who works as a professional trainer give me some advice on which one is most suitable for someone like me?

pdg

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm not a professional trainer, but I can say this:

Any of them. Whichever you think you'll enjoy and will keep going to. You'll get fitter as you go if you don't push too hard and burn yourself out.

Alternatively - you can always use being a bit fat and unfit as an excuse why you can't do a certain art and spend the rest of your life excusing and procrastinating. This is by far the most popular option.

OP
A

AlfonsoGrey37

White Belt
Reaction score

Any of them. Whichever you think you'll enjoy and will keep going to. You'll get fitter as you go if you don't push too hard and burn yourself out.

Alternatively - you can always use being a bit fat and unfit as an excuse why you can't do a certain art and spend the rest of your life excusing and procrastinating. This is by far the most popular option.

I don't know if your last statement was meant as a joke or not but your first suggestion actually sounds like a good idea. I'll try browsing through lists of available martial art classes in my area and see which one ignites my interest the most. Thanks!