isshinryu karate

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
does anyone study this style of karate? if so what do you like/dislike about it? is it good for real self defense and does it have ground fighting?
there is a guy in my area that teaches this style so i am trying to find out about it.
anything you can tell me would be great.
thanks

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I studied it 20+ years ago but no longer do. I liked it and found it practical. Like most styles of karate, kung fu, kenpo, Tae Kwon Do, etc., there isn't really much groundfighting, but there is some standing grappling in the kata.

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
I studied it for a few years after having the fortune of having a student that had trained in it for several years. We worked out an exchange. I found it to be a great style with higher stances, clean striking, and the use of the vertical fist. The guy I trained with had brought in wrestling to what he had to teach, so there was some ground fighting. There were a number of standing submissions. Not a bunch of kata, but there are enough to take some time to master.

OP
drummingman

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
cool thanks.im meeting with the guy who teaches this style tomorrow night.i'll let you know how it goes.

twendkata71

Black Belt
Reaction score
For me I like the vertical punch in close quarter fighting. Its quick and powerful. I am not so much a fan of the position of the thumb. I have had the opportunity to know several Isshin ryu stylist in my time and found that most are very good in their fighting skill.

Brandon Fisher

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I also like using the vertical fist in tight situations. I am torn on the thub position because sometimes I use it myself but not alot.

twendkata71

Black Belt
Reaction score