goju karate

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
does anyone study this style of karate? what do you think of it if you do?
here is a web site about it if you guys wanna check it out. http://www.americangoju.com
im going to check out a class tomorrow night.
im nursing an injury right now so thats why im doing all this research trying to see what style i want to take while im hurt.i hope to start up lessons in a style or system when im better.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I studied it years ago and liked it a lot. But then, I had a great instructor (Vinson Grace of Syracuse, NY).

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It has a rep for being a very complete, deadly-serious fighting style with a lot of the old Okinawan tuite moves likely to be in the curriculum, and a lot of the Chinese combat systems that went into Okinawan karate still right on the surface (along with the more linear striking aspects that were amplified in the Japanese developments of Okinawa-te). A good mix, in short. My impression is, it's very well respected as a combat style. In The Way of Kata, Kane & Wilder talk about some of the `classic' bunkai interpretations associated with Goju-ryu kata and the whole impression which emerges is quite positive one... if you have a chance to study it, it could be just what you're looking for.

OP
drummingman

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
it sounds really cool being that it mixes both hard and soft into the same style.
the teacher also teaches jujitsu and i asked him about adding that in for ground fighting.
check out his site and tell me what you think. http://www.sanyamabushi-goju.com
if you see any red flags as to why i should not study there please let me know.
thanks so much.

KOROHO

Green Belt
Reaction score
There is ground fighting in Goju Ryu, so it should not be necessary to add Jujutsu for that reason.