Is "Jo" staff just for aikido?

Redbad

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a self taught martial artist. I have used instructional videos to learn tonfa
My sparring partner is trained in tanto-jutsu.

I want to learn the Jo to help 1. get a better exercise than I currently get with tonfa and 2. Learn a new weapon that may actually be useful to me in the future.
I also want to help keep my opponent on his toes with his tanto-jutsu, because he can never get the correct strikes while I am using my tonfa.

Is the Jo just for aikido? Or can it be learned by its self?
Let me know
Thanks a lot guys
Austin

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
Short staff is used in about every martial culture there is, the one I referred you to is from the Philippines.

Mephisto

Black Belt
Reaction score
If you want to learn a weapon find an instructor, otherwise you're just larping. I've met some self taught weapons guys before and they severely overestimated their skill. "Self taught martial artist" only exists in old kung fu movies and the minds of martial arts fanboys who aren't motivated enough to go out and train. Lonely dog in the video above originally learned from Dog Bros. video but he eventually met up with the instructors and continued to grow. He started with Dog Bros material and followed it and trained with Dog Bros. instructors and finally became a Dog Brother. He is the exception to the rule of self taught martial artists and he's an athletic beast. The self taught guys i've run across are not. If you must learn by video find a curriculum on video study the video and follow up with the creators of the video regularly for technique adjustment. Just like you can't become a pro football player by watching a game and reading strategy books you can't become a good martial artist without qualified instruction.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score