Instructor Camps

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
2 day/8hrs per day, 1 week/8hrs per day...these are a few examples of the instructor courses that are out there. You go to this camp/course, get intensive training in X art, and when all is said and done, you're certified to teach this to others.

So..if its that easy, why train for 20yrs? I mean, if its really that simple....if all one needs to do is train for 16hrs or 40hrs and you can walk away with the credentials to teach this stuff, you'd figure that everyone would be doing it.

I'm sorry, but I just don't buy into it. I mean, I've been doing Kenpo now for over 20yrs and I'm still learning, fine tuning things, etc. Now, maybe I just don't fully understand those types of courses, and perhaps you still need to get more training in X art, but you have people paying some good money I'm sure, and possibly teaching something that they themselves really don't have a full understanding in.

So, what are your thoughts on these courses? Are they worth it? Are you really going to learn anything? Has anyone had any experience with them?

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If all you're doing is training the same things you've been training all along... then no, I don't think it's worth it. However, I am going to one in August that will be teaching how to teach, how to open and maintain a school, how to recruit students, things that an instructor must do that a student doesn't. That is, I think, much more of what an instructor's camp or seminar should be.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
2 day/8hrs per day, 1 week/8hrs per day...these are a few examples of the instructor courses that are out there. You go to this camp/course, get intensive training in X art, and when all is said and done, you're certified to teach this to others.