Immortals???

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I was in an Asian import store today and was chatting with the owner, a chinese woman in about her late 50's. I was asking some questions and told her I studied Sil Lum Kung Fu. She asked for how long, I told her 2 years and she said, "Oh, so you are studying the immortals." then in a lower voice she leaned in and said with a nod of her head "we have some here".

Does anyone know what the ** she is talking about? Was she toying with me? I have never heard of such a thing.

Anyway, she ended up cutting me a deal on a beautiful reversible red/black silk kimono embroidered with a huge dragon and other symbols, which will be going under the Christmas tree to me from my husband. :D
It was $175 and she gave it to me for $95. :)

So...anyone hear of "the immortals" in Chinese culture or martial arts?

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I don't know much specifically, but I know there are at least 8 immortals in Chinese mythology, at least some of whom connected to martial arts. There is a Drunken Style link there, as well. Each of the immortals has a personality and characteristics, so their kung-fu and their drunken style each plays to those characteristics.

Watch Jackie Chan's Drunken Master Part I (no, not Part II, even tho I like that one better), I think they make references to the different immortals.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Flying Crane said:
8 immortals

Yes, they are represented in Shaolin styles, I believe...most famously the Drunken Immortal. There are also the 5 elders who survived the destruction of the temple.

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score