I want to get into sparring!

lol-TKD

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been practicing Taekwondo now for about 8 years (starting when I was 7/8). I am now 16 years old. I am also female who is second dan.

I am really interested in getting into sport taekwondo with the body armer amd everything. We do occasionally practice sparring in class....but I'd like to do more...so that I can be goood enough to compete.

Is there any excersise that I should practise at home that would help towards me becoming a faster kicker, more powerfull kicker, more flexable....or anything else you need to become a goood sport taekwondoist?

I really hope you can help me with this. Thanks
Lorna x

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Get a bag and go rounds with it.

But seriously, you need to hook up with some people who are into sport sparring. There is no other way to practice sparring than doing, taking your hits as you dish it out.

ATC

Senior Master
Reaction score
You are a 2nd DAN, how many tournaments have you been in over the course of your TKD training? This mean from white belt till now.

The number one things that I see that forces kids to quit the sport and the art sometimes is that they wait to long to get experience. To walk into the ring at 2nd DAN and have no real experience at it can leave a person demoralized.

At the top level most Black Belt competitors will have had years of experience in the ring. They may have over 200 and up tournaments under their belt.

To start sparring at 2nd DAN is a little late. I am not saying that you cannot do it but the process for you will be a little different than for most coming through the ranks all while competing also.

My best advice for you is to find a school that is well known for there sport fighters and train with them. The master or coach of that type of school will know exactly how to prepare you for the ring, and won't put you in the ring before you are ready.