How do I train kime?

ThatOneCanadian

Green Belt
Reaction score
I'm often told that kime can be better practiced by a.) relaxing, and b.) finding that "sweet spot" of tension at the end of a technique. From my understanding, kime is enhanced when the distance between the point of relaxation and the point of tension is shortened (in other words, instead of tensing the punch up 5 inches before impact, tensing it up 2 inches before impact, if that makes sense).

How do I shorten this "sweet spot" and what exercises can I do to improve this aspect of my training? Like, if I were to do absolutely nothing except kime-enhancing exercises for 3 months, what would you recommend?

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Practice correct breathing, balance, and stance, and forget about when to apply tension in a technique. When your body aligns, your punches will be fine.

What you are describing sounds to me more like a different phrase, chinkuchi, but I'm not an expert in Japanese terms. Kime to me means focus.

Nevertheless, producing power in karate involves the entire body, in my experience. If you stop worrying about when precisely to tense your muscles and simply practice good body mechanics, the punches will take care of themselves.

Last edited:

isshinryuronin

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I'm often told that kime can be better practiced by a.) relaxing, and b.) finding that "sweet spot" of tension at the end of a technique. From my understanding, kime is enhanced when the distance between the point of relaxation and the point of tension is shortened (in other words, instead of tensing the punch up 5 inches before impact, tensing it up 2 inches before impact, if that makes sense).

How do I shorten this "sweet spot" and what exercises can I do to improve this aspect of my training? Like, if I were to do absolutely nothing except kime-enhancing exercises for 3 months, what would you recommend?