Home training to improve kicking speed

K

keek4fun

Hi there. I've been training in TKD for a little over 2 years. Although I've progressed in strength, I don't feel that I've improved in my sparring. My kicks are low and slow. Can anyone advise on home training to improve kicking height and speed?
icon7.gif

Adept

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
keek4fun said:
Hi there. I've been training in TKD for a little over 2 years. Although I've progressed in strength, I don't feel that I've improved in my sparring. My kicks are low and slow. Can anyone advise on home training to improve kicking height and speed?
icon7.gif
You need to increase your flexibility and your explosive leg power. Flexibility should be pretty obvious if you've been training for two years. Look into plyometric exercises to increase speed and power for your legs.

Corporal Hicks

Black Belt
Reaction score
Try getting yourself a punchbag that could handle your kicks, then you can kick it powerfully building the muscles in your legs and improving the speed of them.

Try doing air kicking as well but dont damage your joints by over extending or throwing your leg out too fast and make sure your warmed up maybe by doing star jumps or by skipping rope. By air kicking I mean holding onto something (or not if your balance is good enough) and slowly extending your legs into the kicks, its going to pull on your muscles like hell at first, but eventually it will become easier and your be able to do it faster!

Hope it helps and that I havnt got it wrong!

Regards

Corporal Hicks

Black Belt
Reaction score
keek4fun said:
icon7.gif