Hmmm Wu Style ???

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
I was posting an answer in another thread and I began to wonder something about Wu Style Taijiquan.

Back when I first started in CMA my first Sifu was trained in China in Wushu. This means a lot of forms done mainly for competition. But I feel it was great experience and it gave me a sampling of multiple styles that I would otherwise never have had the chance to try. Because of this I found Taiji and Xingyi.

But when he trained me in Tai Chi first was Yang and then was Chen and before Chen ended I started training a Wu style form as well. I liked Wu and it is no secret I liked both Chen and Wu better than Yang but there were no true teachers of either Wu or Chen in my area so I went to Yang style and I do not regret this decision, I have learned a lot from my Yang style Sifu.

However back to my thought. I had to stop doing Wu because no matter what taiji style I did some part of it or many parts of it started to look like Wu, particularly wave hands. And wave hands in Wu is different enough from Yang to look wrong and very different from Chen. Then I found I needed to concentrate very hard not to change to Wu style during another Taiji form I was doing which lead to the decision to stop training Wu style.

I am now beginning to wonder if I should not pursue Wu again since it seemed to come rather naturally to me and it does come from the Yang small frame of Yang Banhou which at least still connects me to Yang. I guess I am wondering if anyone else has run into this with forms and style that they do. Also I am looking for opinions on whether or not I am crazy (Strike that, I know that answer) I should ask am I pursuing the wrong path and should forget it and double my Yang training or should I follow it and see where it goes?

Now if I do pursue this there is still the problem of a legitimate Wu family teacher. I have checked and I would have to travel the following to get to one