Hello there

KempoFlow

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a fairly new MA student. I began my study in May of this year. My oldest a son (8) began studying shaolin kempo karate (Villari's) last year, my daughter (5) started this spring. I have always been interested in the arts, and I really seriously wanted to start studying once I saw my son in class.

I finally bit the bullet this spring when the school offered a free three month trial to parents of current students. I am really loving my classes, and I wish I could go 3 or 4 nights a week just for me. As it is I am there 4-5 nights between all three of us.

I doubt I will be a prolific poster here due to time constraints, but I have been lurking for a bit, and I find this to be one of the better MA forums I have seen.

I have been hesitant to post since so many people here are very well versed on their art, and thus far I am not. Also I don't know how people here and elsewhere feel about the Villari's system. Originally I did a ton of research and I did not want to send my son to a mcdojo. However this school is very close to my home (I live a bit rural). I totally respect the Master who owns the school. She really lives and breathes her art. She pushes us to be our best, and will not let a student move on to the next belt until they are truly ready. My whole family has had a good experience with her school.

Well this has been much more verbose than I originally intended. :lookie:

dubljay

Master of Arts
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Its good to have you here. Don't be shy about posting either. Ask questions and voice your opions too. We're all here to learn. I commend you on researching the schools to avoid being scammed. It's easy to be blinded by flash.

Welcome to MT.

Read, post and be merry.

-Josh

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First, welcome, and happy posting! :wavey:

Second, congrats on making MA a family affair!