Grappling and kneeinjuries

K

kONG

Hello everyone!
This great mma center just opened near where I live, and I was thinking about taking grappling classes there, either bjj or submission wrestling.
My question is I have had some pretty serious surgery to my knee, Im not certain about the english terms, but the meniscula is removed, and the posterior ligaments (?(Ligamentum cruciatum posterius) has been reconstructed with material from the hamstring :(
So I was wondering is it any idea at all to do grappling, or is that just going to mess me up even more, are knee injuries common in bjj or other grappling systems?
Im in pretty good shape, Ive been recovering training hard for a little over two years, and I have aaaalmost complete range of motions and no pain normally.
Id appreciate any advise from you guys!
Thank you in advance.
k

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well... Ask your Doctor.

No one on a webforum knows what you're knee should and shouldn't do.

Chances are if you do train, You are going to want to avoid certain things (Knee locks being an obvious one) and would need to make sure everyone you train with knows that.

As long as you train safe I don't think it is any harder on your knees then any other sport, most of which involve running and quick pivots that can destroy knees. Probably want to avoid some things, but if your doc says your clear for it you should be ok, just be careful.

hardheadjarhead

Senior Master
Reaction score
My understanding--and I could be wrong--is that the PCL ought to be stronger after the surgery. When they did my ACL last year they used the patellar tendon, and the new ACL is supposed to be 20% stronger than the original.

I wouldn't think the meniscus would inhibit you as long as you avoided those things that aggravate it.