Grandmasters

thetruth

Black Belt
Reaction score
What constitutes a Grand Master?

Who would you say are great modern Grand Masters?

Who would you say are great Grand Masters of the past?

Why do people feel the need to add this title in front of their name after putting together nothing more than a mish mash system that is just a cut and paste job from arts they have studied?

Cheers
Sam

First off welcome Sam, you should go to the meet and greet section and introduce yourself.

Now on to your question most GrandMaster have put in over 60 years of studing into there Art and to me that is a true GrandMaster the one's that invent there own style I personally have no time for them.
Terry

Welcome to Martial Talk, thetruth!

I recognize Jhoon Rhee and Hee Il Cho as Grandmasters of TKD. There are others, but those are the two I am most familiar with. I was a student at a GM Jhoon Rhee school and met him in person. As for the other arts, in the U.S., there certainly is Morio Higaonna of Goju who, while not necessarily taking the title is one. I'm sure other MT members will be able to chime in with many martial artists who meet the criteria. Oh, yeah, Wally Jay of JJJ.

I like Terryl965's definition.

Personally, I think anoyone who insists on being called a grandmaster is simply grandstanding. While there are halls of fame, and recognised greats, you don't see 'grandmasters' or anything of the sort in boxing, greco-roman wrestling, fencing, or any of the other modern combat sports. They are an un-necessary construct unique to martial arts. Frankly, I feel the same way about belts and ranks. The person in question contributes nothing to the martial arts that they would not, or could not, have contributed before being labelled a grandmaster.