Getting involved

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Just wondering what everyones thoughts are about getting involved as a 3rd party in a confrontation? If there were two people in a verbal altercation, what would you do as a bystander? Get involved, call the police, do nothing, etc.? Once you state what you'd do, I'd also be interested in hearing why.

This does not have to be limited to just a verbal altercation. The possibilities are endless.

Navarre

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
As you say, it depends on the situation. Most ppl having a verbal altercation wouldn't understand why a stranger would step in. It would be different if I was the manager of the location or if I was a police officer but otherwise I most likely couldn't say anything to diffuse the situation because I don't understand all the parameters of the argument.

If it was a physical confrontation, it again depends on the circumstances. Many times ppl, especially guys, don't want someone interferring in their fight. Still, if one person is getting the crap beat out of him, I'd intervene. Neither may appreciate it and I could even suffer legal repercussions or vendettas because of it. Notheless, I wouldn't let someone get seriously injured if I could prevent it.

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I think you'd need to provide a little more information as something like that would entirely depend on cricumstances, who the 1st and 2nd party where, how serious, what about, etc.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Verbal confrontation? Watch and wait. Physical? It would depend. Definitely call the police. Whether I'd get physically involved or not would depend on many matters.