Gaining or at least maintaining weight rather than losing it

basic

White Belt
Reaction score
I just started training a couple weeks ago and I've been attending the Muay Thai, Jui-Jitsu, Judo, and MMA classes. I'm already thin and worst case scenario is losing weight. I'd prefer to put some on, but since I've been training each time I step on the scale every couple days I've cut about 2lbs from the previous weight. What should I be taking in? I'm on a limited budget being in college, but I need some guidance. Like for example would carbs be good for me? What can I get from the grocery that is cheap to help either gain or at least maintain my weight while training?

Also, lately this stuff has been taking a toll on my body? Is it normal to have to go home and ice body parts after normal training days?

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
I just started training a couple weeks ago and I've been attending the Muay Thai, Jui-Jitsu, Judo, and MMA classes. I'm already thin and worst case scenario is losing weight. I'd prefer to put some on, but since I've been training each time I step on the scale every couple days I've cut about 2lbs from the previous weight. What should I be taking in? I'm on a limited budget being in college, but I need some guidance. Like for example would carbs be good for me? What can I get from the grocery that is cheap to help either gain or at least maintain my weight while training?

Also, lately this stuff has been taking a toll on my body? Is it normal to have to go home and ice body parts after normal training days?
Check out the Zone Diet. And if you want to gain weight, presuming you're a full grown adult and not likely to hit a growth spurt, you'll need to look into lifting weights. Weight training will help you gain mass.