For those who cringe at every new user who is teaching himself the sword...

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
On Their Toes and Asking for Trouble,
Self-Taught Ballerinas Go Online

[FONT=Times New Roman,Times,Serif]YouTube Peer Review Horrifies Dance Schools;
En Pointe Accidents Waiting to Happen
[/FONT]

Since Louis XIV established the Royal Academy of Dance in 1661, formal ballet has never been a self-taught art. Aspiring dancers have been trained under the supervision of professionals. And ever since the pointe shoe was invented in the early 1800s, only girls who had spent three years or so taking lessons ever got permission from their ballet teachers to buy toe shoes.

But now Web videos are shaking loose the rigid hierarchy of the ballet world. Aspiring ballerinas are recording videos of themselves dancing and posting the results for people to look at and critique on the Internet.

Young hopefuls put video cameras on their kitchen or bathroom floor, then do simple exercises in pointe shoes. The videos, which generally aren't more than a minute long, attract viewer chat pointing out mistakes and offering tips.
[...]
The ballet establishment isn't pleased. "To be honest, I was horrified by what I saw," says Rachel Moore, executive director of American Ballet Theatre, in New York, one of the pillars of the American ballet world. Dance professionals say these young dancers are setting themselves up for twisted ankles, broken bones and other injuries.

"If you look at those videos, there is no potential -- except to get hurt," says Kay Mazzo, co-chairman of faculty at the School of American Ballet, the official training academy of the New York City Ballet. "Ballet takes 10 years of training before you can do anything....You don't learn that by watching YouTube."