Clark Kent

<B>News Bot</B>
Reaction score
BJJ/Combat Sports and Self Defense
By NJMMADude - 11-16-2009 11:38 AM
Originally Posted at: FMATalk

====================

Hi Everyone,

I posted this on an MMA forum, but wanted to share it here in case anyone is interested in reading or discussing it. Have a great day and good training to you!

Mark

I studied BJJ and MMA for a few years, and I had many of the same questions that others have regarding self-defense and BJJ, MMA, and other combat sports and their role in protecting me in a violent altercation. I see this topic come up often and there are many arguments presented with valid and logical points. Last year around this time I stopped training only in BJJ and MMA and branched out into other martial arts (specifically FMA, which I had also studied years ago) as well as doing as much reading and research as possible. So, without further wordiness, here is what I have come up with.

Most of the time, when someone is asking the question about BJJ and its effectiveness against others in self-defense, I assume that the person is asking about its effectiveness against a criminal assault. I&#8217;ve heard/seen very few questions about manhandling drunken frat boys and road-raging goofs. I don&#8217;t think that anyone has any doubt about the credibility of BJJ or MMA against these types. Besides that, the combat athletes who I know don&#8217;t go around looking for that stuff, it's small minded and if you are concerning yourself with that, you need to do a self-check before you run into someone who does you in. So what we are talking about here, in short, is how BJJ would work against a criminal assault.