Firing tenured teachers can be a costly and tortuous task

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Getting back to education...

A few random observations... well ok, a half-dozen of them:

1. One seriously messed up excuse for a teacher (the sorry individual described in the OP) shouldn't tarnish the whole profession.

2. "Tenure"?!? What's that? I've been a public high school teacher for nearly 15 years, and we sure don't have it. For the first three years we are on "probationary contracts." Administration can choose not to renew our contracts for any reason, and they don't even have to tell us why. Just say "bye" --that's all. After three years of experience, and getting positive evaluations, we are placed on continuing contracts. Then, if administration chooses to fire us, they have to state a reason and we are entitled to contest the dismissal. That's all. It's not tenure, like a university professor has. It's just a chance to argue your case if someone wants to boot you out. Cops, firemen, and postal workers probably have way more job security. And sometimes better pay, too.

3. Dangerously powerful teachers unions? Not where I work. The NEA is practically laughed at by our Administration. I joined for the insurance policy they offered so I could afford to defend myself when some student gets mad over a grade and decides to accuse me of something sick. --Hey, I've seen things like that ruin the careers of some good people. Other than that, our "union" has no more power (out here in the "wild west") that an ordinary individual on his own has.