Dojo / Dojang and religious symbols

white belt

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I am a school owner and teacher and have been presented with a bit of an annoying problem. I'm sure some of you have heard about France and California with the controversy over Muslim headscarves. Today it became a potential problem in my Dojang.

A Muslim father has been bringing his two elementary school sons to me for about two years for lessons with my kids group. They are nice people and both parents have expressed gratitude to me several times about my sense of fairplay while teaching their children. Today the father shared with me that he would like his wife to join in the lessons. I have a few of the other parents training with their kids and it has worked out really well. He asked me if her (mom) wearing her Muslim headscarf, while training in the Dojang with the others, would be a problem. I replied that religious icons or symbols of any kind, that were conspicuous, were not allowed so as not to distract or detract from the training environment.

I told him (Muslim dad) the story of another potential student whose mother forbid her from bowing to the U.S. flag due to her Christian beliefs. The mom asked if that would be a problem and I said "yes". I explained there was no religious conotation behind it and that it was a show of respect and nothing more. She refused to allow her daughter to do as I require each of the other students to do and I explained that favortism is not allowed in my Dojang. I then reccommended a reputable Christian M.A. school in the area and she left in a fit of anger.

The Muslim father listened but, he said he had some thinking to do and left. I understand the potential for a lawsuit here and all. Any constructive thoughts on my situation?

white belt

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score