Do You Keep Weapons on Hand?

KyleShort

Green Belt
Reaction score
Aside from the obvious empty hand techniques and environmental weapons available for self defense, do you typically keep a weapon close for self defense purposes? I am very new to the FMA and I can see that it is clearly a weapons-based flavor of martial arts (though very applicable unarmed). It seems to make sense that an FMA practicioner would keep a weapon on hand...kuboton key chain, collapsable baton, tactical folding knife. Perhaps the real intent of my question is...who keeps sticks on hand? Do you keep one in the car, the bedroom, the front foor?

Unlike TKD, Wing Chun, BJJ etc. FMA people must have a more difficult time carrying their primarily trained weapon with them. Iadoka and Kenshi would have similar difficulties, but no one really trains in those arts for self defense anyway.

Shodan

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I used to always have sticks in my car for class- but even when I was in between studios and not in active practice, I still kept them in my car. Now, not as much cuz I use the sticks at the dojo when we do stick practice instead of Kenpo. I keep a long black mag. flashlight under my side of the bed- great weapon. I have often wondered if I'd get in trouble for having my sticks in my car though if I were pulled over.......don't know the answer to this one. :idunno:

J

juramentado

yes, I do carry and keep weapons. I always have a 6 inch pointed palm stick with me and a knife (but due to our local elections coming up and the tighter weapons laws, I keep the knife at home for now. )

Aside from the sticks I have all over the house, I have a balisong and machete next to my bed. Right under my side of the bed is a 1911 .45 auto with 13 rounds.

FMA doesn't make you paranoid, I assure you :uhyeah:

K Williams

Blue Belt
Reaction score
13 rounds in a 1911?? Para-Ordanance 1911...?