Do new people actually exist in BJJ?

BobY777

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I don't know that there's ever been an actual new person in my BJJ class. Starting with me, and then most of the ones I remember:
  • Me, black belt in Hapkido (and 3 years in wrestling as a kid) before I started BJJ.
  • Some guy who "took a few open mats" but moves like he's got a few stripes
  • A guy with a year in Judo
  • A superheavyweight teenager who just got done with high school wrestling
  • Someone new to the gym...but he's a black belt and MMA fighter
  • Someone new to the gym...but she's a purple belt
  • A soldier who's trained in Combatives and actively working on PT
Do actual new people exist in BJJ?
I guess bjj can Be a bit intimidating for a totally new Guy. Other arts like taekwondo are way more easily approachable . This is just because of the reputation of bjj . Even I'm intimidated by it and I have several years experience in other styles and was a MP as a conscript in the Finnish army 😅

Hot Lunch

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Just did my first class today. Awesome stuff, but I walked out feeling sick. The kind sick you felt as a kid from playing on the merry-go-round too long. Hopefully, that goes away after awhile. But definitely some awesome stuff that I'm looking forward to getting better at.

Hot Lunch

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Did my first randori last night.

Gotta say, I learned a lot. Not necessarily techniques, but how powerful jiu jitsu really is.

With the black belts, I'm not sure if I was being toyed with, or just being given a chance to do some things - or both. But their ability to remain calm without expending much energy was really impressive.

But that wasn't the most impressive part. The most impressive part was, during a two-minute roll with a boy who appeared to middle-school aged - and was maybe 5 feet tall - submitted me three times (and I'm a grown man, 6'1").