Definition of " A True Martial Artist"?

AceHBK

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I have heard this saying alot from a variety of people.
"I am a true martial artist".
Have you heard this before?
What does that mean to you?
Do you say it to people?
Is it overused?

beau_safken

Black Belt
Reaction score
I'm gonna have to go with the following:

A True martial artist is one that doesn't need to display his knowledge for others to see. You will never know that he/she is special or has any kind of knowledge that the person next to them doesn't know. The true martial artist blends in and is in complete control of their own mind and body.

I would personally like to meet a true martial artist...As I have a hell of a long way to go.

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
beau_safken said:
A True martial artist is one that doesn't need to display his knowledge for others to see. You will never know that he/she is special or has any kind of knowledge that the person next to them doesn't know. The true martial artist blends in and is in complete control of their own mind and body.

Well... by that I take it anyone proclaiming to be a tru martial artists is, under this, not?

MartialIntent

Black Belt
Reaction score
Andrew Green said:
Well... by that I take it anyone proclaiming to be a tru martial artists is, under this, not?
Flawless logic AG! A true martial artist would never admit to being anything of the sort. Sweet.

Respects!

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
To me a true Martial artist is one that has devoted most of tere life to there particular art and has enough wisdom not to be a smart *** about it.
Terry

bobster_ice

Black Belt
Reaction score
beau_safken said:
I'm gonna have to go with the following:

I would personally like to meet a true martial artist...As I have a hell of a long way to go.