Creative Forms

Jon Crafter

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi

I am new to the style of Taekwondo, with my previous style being Goju Ryu (karate) At the moment I haven't joined a TKD class yet but I am preparing myself to join one next year. What I have found is that GR gave me a great foundation for TKD, as we only ever learnt four kicks in two years (front, side, round, back) and mastered these kicks and many different blocking and punching techniques. The past few months I have been researching TKD and practising the kicks, which I found quite easy to do, despite lacking somewhat in the flexibility aspect (which I am working on.)
The kicks that I feel entirely comfortable with at this stage are: The four basic kicks, 360 turning kicks, hook kicks and spinning hook kicks, jumping kicks, axe kicks and crescent kicks. I can't do the advanced kicks like the 540 round or hook kick but I would rather perfect the other kicks before I work on those.
Something that immediately drew my attention was the compelling idea of creative forms. When I was still doing karate I used to love forms and won a gold medal in a competition for it once, but there were no creative forms competitions. With TKD it seems like there are quite a few opportunities for creativity and I would love to take part in a creative forms competition (after I get an instructor of course)
I have watched many videos of creative forms being done and one thing that bothered me was that most of them either contain a lot of punches / open hand techniques or ridiculously difficult gymnastics flips. Why do most people use these to such extremities? If I had to do a creative form it would be something like: Left foot inside to outside crescent kick, right 360 kick, left spinning hook kick, right roundhouse, left 360 kick, left front kick, skipping hook kick left leg, left turning back kick, left spinning hook kick, left reverse sweep, cartwheel (?) Should there be less kicks and more punching / flipping?