Classroom Traditions

fnorfurfoot

Senior Master
Reaction score
I thought it might be interesting to see what kinds of customs the different schools follow. For instance, when I was a student of Shaolin Kempo, we had to kneel when putting on our belts. That was basically the only one. At a Goju school that I was with last year, you could put your belt on when ever and where ever you wanted. They required you to bow to the training room and then bow to the shrine set up with Kyoshi's instructor's ashes. I know of another school that says that the students can't put their belt on until the head instructor gives them permission.

At my old school, I had the students bowing into the classroom before entering and after leaving but once I started running my classes out of the local YMCA, I had to drop that one only because of the way the room is set up there. My only other one that I can think of right now is that I don't allow the students to place their belts on the floor. The belts will of course brush the floor when they are putting the belts on and taking them off, but I hate seeing it resting on the floor.

So what are your rules and traditions?

HKphooey

Senior Master
Reaction score
Forget your belt.... lots of push-ups! :)

Kneeling when puttin on one's belt.

A school I used to train at, had us run sweat form our brows before putting on a newly awarded belt. The their was the kenpo kick to the gut for 1st degree.

OP
fnorfurfoot

fnorfurfoot

Senior Master
Reaction score
Your kick to the gutt reminded me of another tradition at the Goju school. If it was someone's birthday or someone just purchased a new set of sparring gear, that person had to spar with everyone in the room. Every time he/she lost, the winner got to punch the poor soul in the gut as hard as they wanted.

Sapper6

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score