Category Completion

R

Rainman

What is category completion and how does it work?

:confused:

:asian:

OP
S

Scott Bonner

I'm just a beginner (purple belt) so I can't give the best answer, but I'll try.

Essentially, one of the things that sets Kenpo apart is it's methodical, persistent investigation ("scientific", as some call it) of martial arts concepts. That means categorizing different types of attacks, defenses, transitions, etc.

When someone says something completes a category, they mean one of two things. First, they may mean that they have listed all the types of, say, attacks that are imaginable within a certain category -- truly, they have completed the category by learning/teaching all the elements within. See example below.

The second thing someone might mean by the phrase is that they do not think given technique or attack is effective, but it is taught anyway because it is part of some category. The idea is that, though the item in question is not effective for them, it should still be in the system and still be taught because it will be effective for one of their students or in some obscure situation. Also, by analyzing every element of a "category", we can learn why that element is not commonly done even though other elements in its "category" are -- i.e. learn why no one tries to do such and such punch from such and such angle by trying it and finding out it requires a difficult weight shift, limiting it's use to very few situations.

A simple example of a "category" of motion: You can block/parry with the _right hand_ in each of _4 frontal quadrants_. When attacked from the upper left (i.e. by right roundhouse punch) you can do the technique Delayed Sword, which starts with a inward block with the right hand. When attacked from the upper right, Sword of Destruction. When attacked from the lower left, Intellectual Departure. When attacked from the lower right, Deflecting Hammer.