Calming the nerves during sparring?

labellevie

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey!

Newbie here. I'm a green belt, ITF TKD student, and have quite a bad problem with getting horribly nervous and losing my temper during sparring (in class and tournaments).

Basically without rambling on, I've had issues with anxiety/panic attacks due to being bullied in my teen years and it's slowly getting better. I was physically beaten up by other girls and made to look "small" in front of other kids. Fast forward to now - when I've been sparring, I've been feeling absolutely sick with nerves beforehand because I start thinking "people are watching me, I'm going to look stupid if I fall over or fail, I absolutely cannot allow myself to mess up" and if they manage to get a shot, I take it really personal.

I end up over thinking every move, I become frustrated and can't keep collected. I lost my cool in a tournament - I won gold thankfully but I lost my temper and let myself down. Also I've been turning down tournaments because I am so, so, nervous even though deep down I would love to go. I haven't told anybody in my class about my nerves because it's quite personal and they continually ask me why I don't participate often.

So basically I want to learn to enjoy and look forward it! I know many people get nervous but for the most part, most people I talk to are excited beforehand. While they're excited, I'm throwing up in a bin somewhere. It's really getting in the way actually and I feel it's hindering me a lot. One of my instructors wants to train me up to elite level eventually as I train hard, I've got good movement and strong kicks (as a result, I feel extra pressure to look good when I spar!) but I really need to learn to detach myself from my emotions and my past in order to do well later on.

Does anybody have any tips or advice? Thanks :)

Last edited:

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score