Bo training aids

Loomie

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am training with the bo and basically we do this on our own time. I am looking for some DVD's or literature to help me along. I'm basically pretty new to this. Anyone have any they recommend? Thanks

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If you've never handled a weapon before, you need to find a qualified teacher of said weapon. With a stick (bo), you can go JMA/OMA/CMA/FMA/IMA for different styles.

I really recommend against a video of any kind unless you've got training previously & you're looking to learn new drills or maybe (stretching here) a new set.

CDKJudoka

Purple Belt
Reaction score
The above being said, I have had the opportunity to train with Ms. Lauren Kearney. She is a 2nd Dan EPAK stylist and is amazing with the bong (Korean word for stick before you look at me puzzled). She is based in Fla, but she has a few vids as well as doing distance instruction over the internet, with a webcam. Google her and see what you come up with.

I forgot to mention she is a national forms champ and on the Paul Mitchell team

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I would say the following 3 things are required to really learn how to use a weapon

- Someone that knows what they are doing.
- Something you can hit with the weapon.
- Practice weapons and training partners.

Watching a video and swinging it in the air would be like playing pool by watching it on tv and using a pool cue without any balls or a table ;)

OP
L

Loomie

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for the info. We do get some instruction, but not alot of time is spent on it. Thats why I was looking for info. Thanks

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have always liked anything with George Alexander, it is Okinawa based but real good stuff.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score