Best for me?

Arkjoww

White Belt
Reaction score
Greetings! I have yet to make a proper introduction on this forum, just signed up today, but for some reason I figured this would be best.

I am new to pretty much any sort of physical activity. Not that I am completely inactive, but I'm generally the lazy type. I do a decent amount of walking and I do ride my bike a lot, but I'm very much not in shape. Today it sort of hit me that enough is enough, and would like to figure the best path for me. However, I am not sure where to start.

With what little info I can give, perhaps the experts here can give some good advice.

I am a 19 year old male, but I stand at a mere 5'1". I am roughly 125lbs. Pretty damn small. I fit under the LGBT community, so personal safety and ability to defend myself is a bit of a concern. Not everybody is receptive to the idea of transgender people. I have been on Testosterone for a little over two years, so theoretically speaking, I should be able to gain muscle mass if I started working out.

Anyways, my main goals are to gain muscle mass and generally pick up a more defensive art. I am fine with offensive arts as well, but likely not my first choice. Given my size, assuming it is a factor, which forms of martial arts might be best for me?

Thanks!

Cirdan

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hi Arkjoww, welcome to MT :)

The usual awnser to your question is to check out what is in your area, ask if you can try out a class for free (most clubs will let you do this) or sit down and watch how they train. What is taught varies a lot depending on the instructor`s background and focus, not just the art.

I have some background in Wado Ryu Karate, Ju Jitsu, Kali and Kenjutsu. I`d say any of the three first ones should suit your needs just fine, but again check what is available close to you then make a choise. Good luck.

OP
Arkjoww

Arkjoww

White Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for the response.