Best age for my kid to start Muay Thai?

bharat

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been practicing Muay thai for 2 years.Want to join my 5 year old daughter. Do you think it is a good idea?or shall i wait for one more year?

spartan_woman

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been practicing Muay thai for 2 years.Want to join my 5 year old daughter. Do you think it is a good idea?or shall i wait for one more year?

I only just joined MartialTalk, so I'm a bit late in answering this question. I think the earlier you start the better. I started full-contact muay thai when I was 6 (thanks to mom) and had my first public fight when i was 7. I wish now I'd started even younger. In Thailand and Myanmar it's common to start at 4 or 5.

There are several reasons why I think this is a good idea. First, at that age you haven't yet learned to be afraid, so conquering fear is much less of a problem than when you start at 15 or 18.

Second, at that age you haven't yet got great physical strength so you can't do too much damage. That means you get toughened up gradually and develop competitive spirit before the contests are too hard. By the time you arr 15 or so, with real muscles, you already know how to take and give punishment.

And of course an early start gives you more time to improve technique and to develop strength. both mental and physical.

So I'd say, start your daughter now, And get her doing contests as soon as possible. If she's anything like me, she'll love it.

PoolMan

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I'd actually recommend judo, or a similar art.

kitkatninja

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hi All,

Personally, I'd talk to the instructor (due to insurance purposes, etc) as well as your daughter to see if she wants to do it. Then make that decision.

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
I'd actually recommend judo, or a similar art.