Beginners Advice/Tips ?

phobia08

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi Everyone

Ok so on monday I will be attending my first ever TKD class and as I am new to the art I was wondering if you have any tips or advice to prepare for my first session.

Im not that fit or flexable as I would like to be as I have been very inactive for some time now so I need to get my butt off Guitar Hero and get fit and active again

Also What should I expect to be doing in the beggining I know everyone teaches in different ways but isnt TKD pretty standard throughout the world?

Cheers in advance

Ian

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I would keep yourself in check and do what the instructor ask of you. Remember do not try and keep up with students that have been doing it for a long time. Best of luck with your training and keep us posted.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Good advice from Terry as always!
The instructor/s won't be expecting you to do flying kicks etc on your first class so relax and put yourself in their hands. It's their role to teach you what you need to know and they'll know your current limitations, they'll work with you to get the best from your instruction and practice. Enjoy!

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
There are plenty of TKD books. I'd suggest buying one and review the parts that are bound to be universal across all TKD schools such as the foot position when kicking. Many beginners do not form their striking surfaces properly when executing the front or roundhouse kicks. If you learn to shape your striking foot positions properly, you'll be ahead of the game.

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
Just relax and enjoy class. Over time you'll figure out what you need to work on...dont' sweat it now.

Peace,
Erik

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score