Approaching the Teacher

newGuy12

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Greetings!

I am about to approach a Kempo Shihan (via email) for consideration as a student. And I'm as nervous as a little kitten! First impressions are important. I wish that the best protocol was laid out somewhere, but, if it is, I cannot find it!

In any event, if I receive instruction, I guess we'll see if this 41 year old man can still move!

This is an impressive site, I might add, and if any senior students (of any martial arts) have any pointers to give me regarding the first contact / first visit, any feedback will be welcomed.

High Regards,

Robert

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First, welcome, and happy posting! :wavey:

Second, as an instructor, I have never turned away an interested person who truly wants to learn - so if the person you are approaching is a good instructor, you shouldn't have any problems, and if not... well... the reaction will tell you things you need to know.

Good luck!

theletch1

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome aboard! What Kacey said is spot on. Good instructors instruct because they love their art enough to pass it on to others. Having to beg anyone for the time is usually not a good sign. If, however, your first contact is more of "I'm interested in learning your style, what can you offer me?" kinda thing and the potential instructor does his/her best to make you feel welcome then that's great. Martial arts are a lifelong pursuit (no matter what point in life you start) and the relationship with the instructor will be crucial to your enjoyment of your training. If you don't enjoy training you simply won't train. I wish you the absolute best of luck and look forward to following your training here on the board.

KempoGuy06

Grandmaster
Reaction score