Anatomy and KOs

Brownielox

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
As far as I understand (kindly correct me if I'm wrong), there are 2 ways to end/win an MMA fight: knockout or submission.

How does a knockout usually happen? The most common one I've heard of is a fighter punches or kicks someone, and they go down and remain unresponsive. How is that possible? I'm studying human physiology right now, and this really interests me.

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It's a brain injury. The brain bounces inside the skull, from the impact of the strike. Essentially, the brain isn't working properly for a period of time.

CB Jones

Senior Master
Reaction score
Doesn't a good strike to the chin or jaw cause flash KOs due to the nerves in and or around the jaw? Or is that wrong and it's solely just the quick turning of the head that does it.

Also you have liver shots.....not sure exactly what happens physiologically though.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
Well there is chokes. And outright shock as well.

(We had a guy go unconscious from a body shot. Took him maybe 15 seconds to go out)

You can also nail nerves that will shut the brain down.

But involuntary head movement is a big factor and becomes a bit of a conversation when it comes to how a guy is knocked out. And how to prevent it.

OP
Brownielox

Brownielox

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
It's a brain injury. The brain bounces inside the skull, from the impact of the strike. Essentially, the brain isn't working properly for a period of time.

(We had a guy go unconscious from a body shot. Took him maybe 15 seconds to go out)

But involuntary head movement is a big factor and becomes a bit of a conversation when it comes to how a guy is knocked out. And how to prevent it.

This is all so cool to learn about!! So the brain just rattles around from being hit too hard?