Aikido vs anything?

Wildcarde

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all. I just started training aikido here in L.A...I'm one of those guys who, in the past, trained a couple months with this style, a couple of THAT style, and so on. From what I've seen at this early point, aikido is quite effective. I honestly think people who are always dissing other people's styles as ineffective have been watching too many martial arts movies, and have rarely, if ever, been in a real fight. they think if you're not flying through the air, or waving chucks around like bruce lee, then it's no good. my personal experience is, a real fight lasts a minute or 2 and it's over. get in, harmonize with opponents energy, basically get him to defeat himself. get out. sounds like practical aikido to me.

Aiki Lee

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Honestly I bet most fights last even less time than that. especially if you know what you are doing.

It always comes down to what you are training for and how committed you are to making it work right. If you train unrealistically then your skill is for crap in an actual fight, but you can take anything and make it work if you apply it correctly and train properly.

Mike Hamer

Green Belt
Reaction score
Just wanted to say a few things.
1. That video was awesome
2. Please dont come on the aikido forum saying it doesnt work LOL
3. I miss aikido, it was my first art, and maybe I will get back into it when I move to Texas.

chinto

Senior Master
Reaction score
im sure it does work great in the dojo but wrist and standing arm locks are hard enough to apply with strikes and to set them up and are impossible to do so in real life without.

i dont want to offend and if you do it for fun or what ever fine but dont confuse it a practical fightin art.

Oh I think you will find like any art, it works. a good practitioner can show you that it does.

rogersouthbay

White Belt
Reaction score
Aikido training of UNDSS