Aikido and Aikibujutsu

Scout

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I had a question about the two. currently I'm in Afghanistan so it's difficult for me togive the dojo a call to talk to them so I thought I would pick your brains, but when I return to the states, Los Angeles, I'm really looking into Shinkendo, among others. On the Honbu site they mention Aikibujutsu and Aikido. Is there a difference, or is it just another name? If there is a difference what are they? Thanks everyone !!

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My understanding--and I'm no expert on this--is that Aikibujutsu is meant to be Aikido-style techniques but with more of an older, "combative" edge to them. I don't think the use of it is fully consistent between groups. The -bujutsu implies older, "warrior" arts.

OP
S

Scout

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
My understanding--and I'm no expert on this--is that Aikibujutsu is meant to be Aikido-style techniques but with more of an older, "combative" edge to them. I don't think the use of it is fully consistent between groups. The -bujutsu implies older, "warrior" arts.
okay, cause I notice Daito Ryu lists as Aikibujutsu also so this makes sence. So it's more "combat" related, you'd say?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well--they promote it as more combat-oriented. I don't know enough about it to have my own opinion on the matter!

oaktree

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Daito ryu has aikijujutsu,jujutsu,aikijutsu and many other
Parts. It has some similarly with Aikido but also some
Very distinct things not found in Aikido.

OP
S

Scout

Yellow Belt
Reaction score