advice on camps

msd89

White Belt
Reaction score
hi guys, im still a beginner in muay thai and although im not currently training i hope to be training soon. even though i dont have much experience in muay thai, im getting a month off later this yr and would love to use that time to possibly go train at a camp in thailand. i know a month isnt much, especially for a beginner, but its alll i have and if i pass this up im not sure when ill get a chance to go.
ive been scrolling through the forums reading and researching about alot of the camps mentioned. my main aim of the trip is for the experience and for the health aspects. im more interested in a smaller camp that can still provide excellent training. does anyone have any info or first hand accounts they can share about their experiences and thoughts?
another thing is that for the past months i havent had much time to train or even get much physical exercise for the past 6 months so im pretty out of shape. and i dont see that changing over the next few months either. do you think it would still be ok for someone like me to go or not?

Expat MT

White Belt
Reaction score
I don't have a first hand account of any muay Thai camp in Thailand. There are lots of promo videos and websites out there. It's sometimes can be confusing as to what's best for you. Check out the good, the bad, and the ugly sides of it at fightpassport.com, muay Thai journal. It's the most detailed first hand experience i've found. To maximize your experience, I think one should be prepared shapewise. You don't want to be sidelined from injury or being out of condition. From my observation for first time traveler, choose a camp with living accomidation for convenience. Learn some basic of thai terminology. Most trainers will speak some English depending on the camp. A little Thai will help you expedite thing and earn some respect. I got some basic Thai in another post. Good luck with your journey and hopeful you post again about your experience.