3 Things I Learned This Week

lianxi

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've been practicing martial arts for over 30 yrs and now at 64 yrs old am without a teacher, students or partner and I enjoy the freedom of practicing solo. This week I learned, or was reminded of 3 important things that I thought I'd share -

1 - Martial arts IS about fighting - Joining martialtalk this week, I'd asked for preferred techniques to block or parry a straight-in punch. Since I don't spar or fight anymore, I wanted advice from those who do and found it here - it was enlightening and reminded me that despite my personal approach to martial arts practice - I'm 64 - (health, energy, flexibility and personal expression) it IS about fighting and there are laws of physics and techniques that work and make sense - check out that post to read the brilliant responses I received here.

2 - You can't be or do everything as a martial artist. There are things I love to watch others do in a video, moves or techniques that inspire me, take away my breath, and make me love the world of martial arts, even though it's something that I personally could never do. There are many, but this week it was finding a clip of Rose Namajunas' flying armbar against Kathina Catron - wow. Maybe you have to be 115 lbs to do something like that - you also have to be Rose.

3 - Let some fresh air into your martial arts life. Like many here at martialtalk - my practice is a way of life as important as any spiritual or life path, so it's serious to me, but I was reminded to relax my outlook a little and enjoy the path after finding a couple of videos of Master Ken (enjoy the dojo) - 100 Hits in 1 Second and The Ultimate BJJ Escape.

Look forward to more exchanges on this great forum!

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score