2003 Modern Arnis Symposium Instructors Short Bios

Dan Anderson

Master of Arts
Reaction score
It's been requested so I might as well start.

I have been training in Modern Arnis since 1980 and was promoted to 6th Degree Black Belt in June 1992. I am also a 7th Degree Black Belt in American Freeestyle karate and have been in the martial arts since 1966. I was given the title of Senior Master By Prof. Presas in 1995. I founded my own curriculum of Modern Arnis which I call Modern Arnis 80.

The concept of Modern Arnis 80 is two fold: 1) the 80 signifies the year I began training under Prof. Presas and 2) if you turn the 8 on it's side you get the symbol for infinity. Prof. Presas would show a great variety of counter moves for any given attack, creating the apparancy of an infinite number of variations. When pressed, he moved with directness and efficiency. Hence the 8 - 0 means from the possibility of anything to the simplicity of the moment.

Modern Arnis 80 stresses two key abilitites: the Flow and the ability to counter the counter. These two aspects are what Prof. Presas continually stressed to me as the most important aspects of Modern Arnis.

Yours,
Dan Anderson
Founder, Modern Arnis 80

D

DoctorB

Originally posted by Dan Anderson

It's been requested so I might as well start.

I have been training in Modern Arnis since 1980 and was promoted to 6th Degree Black Belt in June 1992. I am also a 7th Degree Black Belt in American Freeestyle karate and have been in the martial arts since 1966. I was given the title of Senior Master By Prof. Presas in 1995. I founded my own curriculum of Modern Arnis which I call Modern Arnis 80.