When things go bump

sgtmac_46

Senior Master
Reaction score
What would I do, or what do I advise others to do because of concern for legal liability?

Advice for those asking me? Call the police.....

What DO I do? I don't call the cops when I hear a bump in the night.....I am a police officer, and i'm more than capable of checking my own house.

Yeah, I know, i've heard the advice 'Call the cops, it's what they get paid to do'.......so I should only risk my life when i'm getting paid my pittance on the clock, but not when defending my own home?

I check my house, and if there's anyone there who shouldn't be there, then I call the police to come pick up the body.

Now if they're outside and not doing anything but prowling, i'll call the on-duty guys and have them round them up....inside the Bat Cave they belong to me. ;)

chinto

Senior Master
Reaction score
I would say a pellet gun is stupid, and that if you are concerned enough to arm yourself with a deadly weapon, then perhaps going into a defensive position and calling 911 is not a bad choice at all. but clearing a room or home of possible intruders is something that does take training to do right!! if you have a fire arm prepare to use it, as any intruder in your home should provably be considered a very possible deadly threat, but going looking is an invitation to an ambush or worse.

allenjp

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Ok Kenpotex, I smacked myself upside the head, I guess I can respond now???