The mental game and shooting

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
When competing in a competition and things aren't going your way, how do you get "back on track?"

I ask this because all of you are aware that I am new to shooting air rifle competitions. Today I participated in another match that didn't fair as well as I had hoped.

We did make some adjustments to my equiptment that I have had little or no time to practice with in the past week or so. I changed the grip on my gun last night and did not have any chance to practice with it. My coach increased the FPS last week on my rifle and added an adjustable iris to it, and again, due to circumstances and time constraints I didn't have a lot of practice time.

When I picked up my rifle today and started shooting, I have to admit that the new velocity that the air rifle was shooting at startled me a few times at first. I was expecting the same softer sounding pop noise, instead the sound was louder and sharper was different and not something I was used to. The grip felt weird in my hands and for the life of me I could not adjust the iris properly and I found that all of the above frustrated the heck out of me.

I don't want sit here and play the "well this happened and that happened game" blaming my equipment, etc. What is really comes down to is I wasn't prepared to handle the changes that were brought forth by the adjustments of my guns and because of my lack of knoweldge and experience it rattled my performance.

I know that practice, practice, practice and sending pellets down range will improve my performance for next time. However, I was wondering if anyone could share their experiences as to how they adjust during a competition when things aren't going right and how they beat the mind games that you play with yourself during those moments of not so good scores.

How do you help yourself forget about that last shot and move forward? How is it you can figure out what is wrong and fix it?