What makes hapkido hapkido?

H

Humble artist

What makes hapkido unique?
In terms of technique or other things.
Just thought about that,probably a bit hard question as arts share things,making them universal but...

OP
S

strider

I think that the mutiple ways that you can defend yourself is what makes Hapkido what it is. The way you use your pponents energy against them, and the use of joint locks, pressure point attacks, throws, kicks, and strikes when it is nessasary. You really dont have to hurt anyone to end a confrantation, although you can if you have to. Thats what i think but im still new to Hapkido, only been taking it for about 2 1/2 months.

OP
H

Humble artist

Thank you.
That was sort of what I might have been looking for.
Anything else,anyone?

OP
S

strider

hey NP im really interested to see how others reply its a hard question to answer for me any way.

OP
E

Eraser

Humble...

Well.. to generalize Hapkido .. and what makes it good.. its kinda hard.. because there are different branches of Hapkido as well..
Our style of Hapkido is very unique becaue we use principles from Kosho Ryu.. We put major focus on body positioning.. you would be amazed on how much more power you can get from your body by simply turning your body 45degrees...... Its actually mind blowing.. we also do ground work not so much grappling.. but how to get the person off of ya.. its really cool when you learn what to do to make a persons freeze in place.. we do skeletel freezing..(i know sounds like an Arnold flick eh!!) which is sooooooo awesome!!
Most all MA do kicks, punches ect.. but its the inbetween stuff that makes it different..... :asian:

OP
S

strider

hey thanks eraser i forgot about that part of our style, brings out my point alittle better. or i hope it does?

OP
H

H@pkid0ist