Tiger Balm or Dit Da Jow

B

Brian Twitty

What is the difference between Tiger Balm and Dit Da Jow? Is there a difference or are they basically the same thing?

Dronak

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
I have very little knowledge about this sort of thing, but from what I've read around the web I believe tiger balm and dit da jow are different things. Tiger balm is more along the lines of icy-hot stuff, kind of a muscle pain relief product. Dit da jow is supposed to be something else, often used to help clear up (heal) bruises. I could be wrong here, but I think they do have at least moderately different uses and properties.

OP
R

Richard S.

most definately different. tiger balm is good for sore over-used muscle, such as weightlifting, tennis, etc. it warms the surface thereby warming the muscle by way of a leaching effect. Dit-Da- Jow is an impact injury relief, it penetrates the skin to break up stagnant blood which is the "Chi Highway" allowing for faster healing and insurance against the onset of arthritis. it also helps with bone bruising to a degree.

OP
D

disciple

Don't forget the difference in their physical forms :D Tiger balm is balm and dit-da-jow is liquid

salute

:asian:

OP
W

WaterCircleHarmony

Dit Da Jow is made by fermenting herbs in alcohol and Tiger balm is made with oils and herbs. I know, cos my dad brews dit da jow. Be careful of purchasing the stuff as most of it is watered down stuff. keeps u coming back for more.

if anyone is interested then try ping on ointment as it is a little more "pliable" than Tiger balm and is stronger too. Unblocks the nose at the same time.

Take a warm bath before application and massage area well with ping on ointment. cover under sheets and sleep in warm bed to incubate. repeat process until all injury is gone. .....and here's one i made earlier! :D

Mao

Black Belt
Reaction score