Questions from a total beginner to MA

btc

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey there, first off I'd like to say hello to everyone here on martialtalk forum. I've spent a while now just browsing through posts before I registered and it seems like a great community. One in which I hope to be able to contribute in some shape or form in the future.

A little bit about me, this might aid in answering my question as to what branch of MA is right for me. I am 21 year old male who is lean (125 pounds, 5'10) and in decent physical shape. I mainly try to go running for 2-3 miles everyday for exercise. I don't eat junk food, smoke and only drink socially. Eat healthy food and take vitamins, all in all good condition. I'd be looking for training in Boston, MA as I live and go to school there.

Mainly I am looking for branch that would be a good workout and a substitute for running. However, also provide training in self defense. I mean, if someone came at me I could probably out run them no sweat, but in a close situation it would be nice to have some line of defense. I am intrigued by the spirituality behind some of MA's I've read about however I don't believe I have the proper knowledge or background in Eastern Religion to do them justice.

From my preliminary reading on here and wikipedia, I take it I would be looking more towards the 'soft' forum of MA. Other then that I am not quite sure. Any advice and/or recommendation of a trainer in my area would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!

thescottishdude

Orange Belt
Reaction score
the basic move sof just abotu any martial arts are the most commonly used ones- punchign kicking. I would use MA as a substiture for running as they are very different things.

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score