New to forum, new to martial arts.

Dansolo

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi all. I'm Dan, I'm 26 and I'm from Massachusetts (Worcester area). I am new to the forum and I am also pretty new to martial arts in general. I've watched UFC from time to time with friends for a few years now, and of course the occasional kung fu movie, but I've only just started learning: some BJJ basics from my friend Joe. He is also learning BJJ (for just a couple of years now) but he is good enough to teach someone of my level. I've only had two hours of class so far and will be moving from once a week to twice a week. I'm also friends with Joe's Shihan whom I could take lessons from at some point if I decide to do so. (Just to note: Joe's Shihan did not deny me from taking classes from him or anything - I guess I just feel more comfortable at this stage learning from Joe. But Shihan does give me some tips as Joe instructs, so that's cool.)

The thing is, BJJ is not what I really want to learn. I'm going to stick with it for the moment because it's convenient and it is a martial art when I would otherwise be taking none. I don't particularly dislike it or think it's a bad martial art or anything like that, but I feel it's not "my" style. All the practicing on the ground kind of bores me. I'd rather do stand up, and besides, I don't have interest in competing in MMA, either. Actually, it would probably be accurate to say that I have little interest in competing at all.