new mom

michelle_gonzales74

White Belt
Reaction score
hi everyone!! well Im very new to all this. my youngest son has shown interest in martial arts as long as I can remember. hes 5. well after much talk with alot of different people Ive let him join a class. I have enrolled him in a kungfu/san shou-shuai jiao class.we live in a VERY small town and there was that and taekwondo and an aikido class. thats it. anyways, his wrestling coach is the one that eventually suggested a teacher. (my son wrestled this year for the first time and ranked 1st in his age/weight bracket for northern new mexico!). as i have ABSOLUTLY NO KNOWLEDGE of any martial arts, i have come here to get as much info and advise as possible. im just a mom who is trying to understand this all......

any advise or suggestions will be greatly appreciated....

thanks!

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
First - welcome to Martial Talk, and happy posting! :wavey:

I would suggest asking your son's instructor for recommendations on reading material, as any recommendations he gives you will align with his curriculum. After that, I'd just hang around here a little while - the kung fu practitioners should be along shortly to give you more advice specifically on kung fu; I do TKD, so I can't provide much specific information on kung fu.

And as a school teahcher as well as a martial arts instructor - let me just say thank you for finding out about what he's doing, instead of just dropping him at the door and assuming that was all that was needed.

lamanna

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi Michelle, welcome to MartialTalk. :)